The Blue Effect, responsible for youthful pain

Causing existence to become dull and worn

Marking the generation with an unremovable stain

 

The reason why youths are blind to a gain

Confused, stressed, exhausted, and torn

The Blue Effect, responsible for youthful pain

 

Inside their hearts and minds lays an empty plain

Questions filling the space with, “why was I born?”

Marking the generation with an unremovable stain

 

For the weaker ones, present a stability cane

To balance their hurt and rid all their scorn

The Blue Effect, responsible for youthful pain

 

Lift their poor spirits with the positivity crane

Let them be reminded why not to be forlorn

Marking the generation with an unremovable stain

 

Adjust their hearts back inside the positive lane

Provide the proof that they are all loved and adorned

The Blue Effect, responsible for youthful pain

Marking the generation with an unremovable stain

snowy-1149651_640
HTTPS://pixabay.com/en/snowy-roadway-road-winter-drive-1149651/

 

“The Blue Effect” is written carefully to express the declining positivity of the young generation. It is this overwhelming idea of “feeling blue”, aka struggling with depression or being overly self-conscious. This effect is symbolized as a sort of unnoticed plague that preys on young adults, washing over nearly half the population of today’s society. I felt inspired to craft this poem, in the villanelle format, to hopefully draw in readers who are able to relate or, at the very least, comprehend the message. Having written this in the villanelle format, I wanted to remind readers of this effect because depression is something that lingers for a long period of time; it just doesn’t leave forever. Overall, I’m looking forward to hear from those who are able to relate.

Having written this, I’ve realized how powerful poetry can really be in certain and carefully chosen formats. In the past, I was not aware of what poetry was capable of when writing it myself. Now I feel as though I am capable of incorporating deeper meanings in my work. Poetry gradually becomes more and more elegant and meaningful to my pen. I’m thrilled to craft even more for my readers!

